About the journal

Established in 2006, PARRHESIA: A JOURNAL OF CRITICAL PHILOSOPHY is dedicated to publishing the latest work on continental philosophy, along with new translations and interviews with contemporary thinkers.

All pieces published in the ESSAY and REVIEW ESSAY sections of PARRHESIA are double blind peer-reviewed. The Editorial Board of PARRHESIA does not necessarily condone the views held by its authors outside of what is published in its pages.

PARRHESIA is available under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-No Derivative Works 4.0 License, found here; a readable summary can be found here. It broadly states that the copyright for the pieces published in PARRHESIA remain with the author, while first publication rights belong to the journal. The contents of PARRHESIA are free for any and all to use in educational and non-commercial settings as long as their source is properly attributed.

PARRHESIA is a part of the Open Humanities Press, an international open access publishing collective whose mission is to make leading works of contemporary critical thought freely available worldwide.

The journal is published with Open Journal System software, developed by the Public Knowledge Project.

The ongoing publication of the journal is supported by the Melbourne School of Continental Philosophy, and Philosophy at the University of Dundee.

Editorial board

ARNE DE BOEVER teaches American Studies in the School of Critical Studies and the MA Aesthetics and Politics program at the California Institute of the Arts (USA). He is the author of States of Exception in the Contemporary Novel (Continuum, 2012), Narrative Care (Bloomsbury, 2013), Plastic Sovereignties (Edinburgh, 2016), Finance Fictions (Fordham, 2018) and Against Aesthetic Exceptionalism (Minnesota, 2019). He is also the co-editor of Gilbert Simondon: Being and Technology (Edinburgh, 2012) and The Psychopathologies of Cognitive Capitalism: Vol. 1 (Archive, 2013), and the editor of Bernard Stiegler: Amateur Philosophy (Duke University Press, 2017). In addition to being an editor for Parrhesia, he edits the critical theory/philosophy section of the Los Angeles Review of Books and is a member of the boundary 2 collective. His most recent book is François Jullien’s Unexceptional Thought (Rowman & Littlefield, 2020).

SEAN MCMORROW teaches social theory and politics at the University of Melbourne. He has recently completed a PhD thesis at Monash University examining the political anthropology of Cornelius Castoriadis, which raises issues relating to historicity and contemporary political regimes. Aspects of this work have been published in Cosmos and History: The Journal of Natural and Social Philosophy and Telos: Critical Theory of the Contemporary.

ASHLEY WOODWARD is a lecturer in philosophy at the University of Dundee, and a founding member of The Melbourne School of Continental Philosophy. He is the author of Understanding Nietzscheanism (Acumen, 2011), Nihilism in Postmodernity: Lyotard, Baudrillard, Vattimo (The Davies Group, 2010), editor of Interpreting Nietzsche (Continuum 2011) and co-editor of Sensorium: Aesthetics, Art, Life (Cambridge Scholars Press, 2007) and The Continuum Companion to Existentialism (Continuum, 2011). His research focuses on value theory and philosophy of art in contemporary continental philosophy. His website can be found here.

AMY STUART is an artist practicing in Melbourne, currently undertaking a research-led Master of Fine Art at Monash University. Alongside studio research, her current project examines the work of Elaine Sturtevant in relation to institutional critique and the parafictional. Amy has exhibited and performed at Bus Projects, Monash University Museum of Art (MUMA), West Space, TCB Art Inc. and various offsite venues. She is also an artist assistant and affiliated with artist-run-space TCB Art Inc.

Advisory board

Justin Clemens
Associate Professor in English and Theatre Studies, University of Melbourne

Max Deutscher
Emeritus Professor of Philosophy, Macquarie University

Alexander García Düttmann
Professor of Philosophy and Visual Culture at Goldsmiths, University of London

Robert Eaglestone
Professor, Royal Holloway, University of London

Russell Grigg
Associate Professor of Philosophy and Psychoanalytic Studies, Deakin University

Joe Hughes
Senior Lecturer in English and Theatre Studies, University of Melbourne

Marguerite La Caze
Lecturer in Philosophy, University of Queensland

Sylvère Lotringer
Professor Emeritus of French Literature and Philosophy, Columbia University

Jeff Malpas
Professor of Philosophy, University of Tasmania

Brian Massumi
Professor, Department of Communication Sciences, University of Montréal

Paul Patton
Professor of Philosophy, University of New South Wales

John Rajchman
Adjunct Professor, Columbia University

Alison Ross
Senior Lecturer in Critical Theory, Monash University

Robert Sinnerbrink
Senior Lecturer in Philosophy, Macquarie University

Daniel W. Smith
Professor of Philosophy, Purdue University

Rudi Visker
B.O.F. professor for philosophy, Institute of Philosophy, KULeuven, Belgium

James Williams
Honorary Professor, Deakin University

Website and production

Camryn Rothenbury
Website developer/administrator, typesetter